AI will replace teachers in the classroom.

It is believed by some that technologies are going to take teachers’ place in the classroom in a not so long period of time. This essay strongly agrees with that statement, finding in online teaching a very valid alternative to in-person classes. Firstly, artificial intelligence is more present every day at schools. This started a few years ago with the introduction of some digital and interactive boards. Nowadays, technology is evolving at a great speed, which will soon take humans’ education to a whole new level. This means that within a few years teachers are probably going to be accompanied, if not replaced by different kinds of technological intelligences. In China we can find a clear example of this, since some interactive robots have already been tested at a few schools, being able to identify when children were making spelling mistakes. In addition, a great substitute to face-to-face education would be online classes. This allows students to take lessons from home, helping them save both time and money. Furthermore, with the advancements humans have nowadays, children would be able to communicate with the teacher, as well as with the other students, so the social skills would not be compromised. With the COVID-19 pandemic, we have already seen some of the results regarding this kind of education. The Covid situation has given place to a very effective educational alternative, since in-person lessons were impossible to carry out. So, to sum up, artificial intelligence would be an evolutive replacement for teachers in the close future, with online lessons as an impeccable substitute to traditional face-to-face education.