Lion Symbol of Saint John" from "The Book of Durrow

During the Middle Ages, there are a variety of works of art were created, including metalwork, sculpture, painting, stained-glass windows, engraving, and manuscripts, which were mostly religious arts with catholic themes and subjects. Several people claimed that the manuscript illumination was not realistic at all, that the artists used more craft symbolism, and that this resulted in a variety of interests having distinct and deep impressions. Personally, I was also taken aback by these works of art, particularly " Lion Symbol of Saint John" from "The Book of Durrow. " Therefore, I will discuss this page in this essay. Because of the increase in Christianity in Ireland, the amount of Christian art, particularly artwork like this book, increased. The style of the art was called Hiberno-Saxon art. “The Book of Durrow” is an Illuminated Manuscript in which Christian art is used with pagan interlace, as seen in this depiction of Saint John the Evangelist. This page “the Lion Symbol of Saint John” of the manuscript is aged to around A. D. 650, and it represents Saint John the Evangelist as a lion surrounded by a rectangular border filled with interlace of green, yellow, and red. The page depicts a lion in the middle with its jaws open and teeth bared as if growling or roaring. However, what strikes me as particularly impressive is the depiction of the lion's body in various colors, with Celtic symbols in vivid color around the manuscript's edges. Yellow, green, red, and brown are utilized to highlight specific details on the lion text. While yellow is introduced to emphasize the lion's muscles and separate its feet, brown dots are added to portray the head and underbelly. Its tail is likewise coiled up and curves around the lion's body. As a result, these characteristics may join to create a maze-like pattern. We can't dispute that this page has a logical unity of color and shape which created a technique distinctive for "the Lion Symbol of Saint John" In addition, I believe that the symbols for the lion image in the middle also created the uniqueness of the illuminated manuscript from the "Book of Durrow". The lion appears to be a depiction of Saint John the Evangelist as a powerful spiritual figure. Along with his sole depiction in the manuscript's center, which is also meant to highlight his importance, and the lion is supposed to represent his strength. The lion is also often used to symbolize strength and power, similar to the lion or dragon shown in the Tunc Crucifixerant XPI of the "Book of Kells", which was another illuminated manuscript. In conclusion, “the Lion Symbol of Saint John” is a typical example of Hiberno-Saxon art, with a movement from a sophisticated and intriguing art style to one that is more complex and intricate. This "Book of Durrow" from the Middle Ages period, not only shows Irish influence, but also incorporates an element of individualism, as indicated by the lion standing alone. The manuscript is also one of the earliest examples of medieval manuscript illumination; it is unique, and different from other art texts at the same time.