Agriculture challenges and solutions in Rwanda

With its economy being predominantly based on agriculture, Rwanda is still one of the least developed countries in the world and this is justified by the United Nations Report. Eventhough the country has made great efforts to implement some policies to increase the overall agricultural productivity, there is still a long way to go to solve the problem of food security. There are many problems that hinder the agricultural sector in Rwanda of which the major ones are the lack of well trained manpower and poor agricultural technology. Firstly, manpower is one of the most important element in any entity's production. Agriculture in Rwanda is still being traditionally practiced. For instance, It is not easy to motivate high school graduates to pursue agricultural sciences in their university studies as they consider this field as the one for old people or uneducated. In addition, as the modern techology advances, it is very complicated for old people to learn new technological skills applied in agriculture, thus leading to a serious problem to meet food needs of increasing population in Rwanda. Secondly, the world is fastly developing and technlogy is on the rise in very domain of life. Given the country's other expenditures, Rwanda cannot make great investments in agricultural technolgy, and this can be associated to the challenge of qualified labour deficit in the farming industry. To sum up, Rwanda needs to address these issues slowing its agricultural practice. As the agriculture is the motor of the country's economy, giving incentives to agriculture practitioners, increasing investments in the sector such as training students and motivating them to pursue agricultural studies in the tertiary education would be ideal in solving the challenges in the agriculuure, thereby increasing the country's economic development.