Agree or disagree with the following statement: “The future status of English as the global language is assured. ”

With the rapid pace of globalization in the world, the presence of a lingua franca is probably pivotal. There are many nations that chose British as their official and also exist other countries where this language is still considered as a foreign language. Though many people argue that there will be other languages to take the place of English in the future, I believe that English would not lose its position. To begin with, only when a language is used officially in many nations’ communication and education does it become the global one. English has been long time considered a lingua franca due to its large number of speakers in about 101 countries, and also owing to the fact of being the official language in 35 countries. Although it is said by many people nowadays that Chinese, the language of one of the most developed countries in the world, would be the one in place of English. However, the number of people speaking English in the world has generally outnumbered the one of Chinese, making it impossible for Chinese to substitute English. As English has become more and more common these days, the majority of society seems to learn this language for several purposes to fulfill their need. For instance, English is served as an effective supporter to people having the intention of traveling or going abroad for study or immigration. To be more specific, take students choosing to study abroad as an example. Those students are seeking a wide knowledge of the world and more opportunities, thus having a good command of English would give them an edge in achieving scholarships or getting easier in the new environment. Furthermore, to people who have an English certificate or such things, they can take that as an advantage and applying for occupations offering a handsome salary, which could help them have a laid-back life in the end. In conclusion, although there are still many arguments that English would end up being replaced and lose its place, I firmly hold the idea that English is possibly the perfect one for the 'global language' position and would continuatively maintain its status in the future.