SOME PEOPLE BELIEVE THAT IT IS GOOD TO SHARE AS MUCH INFORMATION AS POSSIBLE IN SCIENTIFIC RESEARCH, BUSINESS, AND THE ACADEMIC WORLD. OTHERS BELIEVE SOME INFORMATION IS TOO IMPORTANT OR VALUABLE TO BE SHARED FREELY. DISCUSS BOTH VIEWS AND GIVE YOUR OPINION.

It is a controversial issue whether all kind of information in different fields should circulate freely through societies or not. Clearly both opinions have not only advantages but also disadvantages. It is true that there is a big majority of people who find it essential to share as much information as possible, as knowledge means power. It is indeed crucial some piece of information to be shared freely, otherwise our society would never be improved. For example, scientific information about technology and the Internet changed drastically not only the society but generally our life style, as nowadays, people live a more convenient and easy life thanks to the Internet. Furthermore, when information in scientific and academic worlds is available to everybody, new researchers may use the information properly and even take it a step further. That will definitely lead to scientific breakthroughs in a shorter time than it would take if only a small minority of scientists had access to important information. On the other hand the view that some information should be accessible only to those who know how to process it appropriately is also rational. Firstly, there is some information that should not be reachable to everybody, as this may lead to catastrophic results. For instance, details about nuclear weapons are extremely sensitive and there is no apparent reason for everyone to know them. Moreover, there is no point in sharing all the information in the business world. Business is all about improvising and creating new ideas and that is why intellectual property is considered extremely important. If a company knows about the competitors’ strategies, there will be no foundations for healthy competition, as everyone could easily steal someone else’s ideas. To sum up, the idea of sharing all kind of information freely helps our society to be enhanced but also involves the possibility of devastating outcomes. In my opinion, the responsible authorities, the governments and the people in charge in companies should filter the information, which will be accessible to everybody.