Many offenders commit more crimes after serving the first punishment. Why is this happening, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

It is true that some criminals commit crime again and again after they have been punished. While there are some alarming reasons for this trend, some effective measure can be taken by government to tackle with this situation. There are two main reason for this reoffending activity. Firstly, some criminal are locked up with other criminals and they make friends with other offenders. They got enough time for some physical activities and then criminal start communicate with each other and exchange information about a number of criminal activities done by them before entering into prison. Secondly, offenders often are poor, uneducated and low in skills, hence they start crime and face job difficulties. For instance, New York University recent done a research on criminals that indicates that about 80% of criminals are uneducated and low in skills, Consequently they start snatching, murder and a number of little crime for food and money. To solve this problem, government should do some measures to tackle this situation. In prison offenders should teach about some basic skills like computer, car mechanics and construction work so that whenever they release from prison can get job in these categories and avoid thinking to commit crime again. This may improve confidence level to socialized and communicate freely in society. Moreover, instead of putting them into prison let them do some social work, these activities eliminate their negativity among society and negative influence that prison can have. Due to this, society accept them and can get hired in well paid jobs. In conclusion, it is true that re-offenders are one of the major problem in society however it can be solved by forcing them into rehabilitation center rather than punished