In some countries owning a home rather than renting one is considered very important. Why might this be the case? Is this a positive or negative development?

Every country might have different views of home owning and renting as some countries, people might prioritize owning a house rather than renting the house. In my opinion, this is a negative situation as most of the people would want to have their own house and there would be land issues, energy issues, and environmental issues. To begin, people prefer having their own house as they do not have to worry about the financial issues and the risk when natural incidents strike. When people rent houses, they have to manage their financials well to be able to afford the rent or else they will face the risk of not having place to live, and this is the reason for almost everyone who prefer owning house as they seek for security in their life; they want to be certain on something, so that they can focus on other issues. Also, when natural incidents occur, the damaged property will be gone, and tenants would not have their own actual property which leads to the mentioned word of security seeking. However, those risks would be decreased when people owned the house as they will have actual property to be used in the future like businesses or for mortgages. Owning a house also has impacts as more people demand for houses meaning that there would be a surge in land usage which would decrease the land for other uses for an increase in residential area. The land for other usage might be more efficient than to be used as a residential area, so building more and more houses might reduce the opportunity from that piece of land. Consequently, more houses means more energy usage as each house would have their own utilities unlike rental houses that you can share with others to reduce the use of energy. For example, having one fridge per house uses a lot of energy, but if many people use that fridge, the energy usage per person would be reduced. From all those issues, it can be linked to the last issue as well as more land and energy usage from an increasing number of houses would have an impact on the environment as deforestation would have to increase to clear more land for houses affecting on the animals and their habitats. Moreover, energy usage can damage the environment as it can speed up global warming from electronic devices or appliances usage which release harmful gases into the atmosphere. Harmful substances in the air would worsen pollution issues which come back to us, people, as health related issues concerning lung and respiratory systems. In conclusion, owning a home has benefits in terms of security in life and property but it causes more detrimental effects such as deforestation, pollution, and environment harming from creating pieces of land for houses which outweighs its benefits in the long term.