Advertising discourages us from being different and individuals eventually look the same. mnbq

It is believed that advertisements standardised the way people dress and discourage individuality. I partly agree with this statement, advertising promotes conformity, and yet most people make their individual choices to look differently and to be distinguished from others. Advertising is encouraging people to buy products, consequently, people end up with the same things and look alike. Moreover, the fashion industry tells followers or trendsetters what colours to wear in which season, what cloth is trendy and even what type of haircut could make them more fashionable. A lot of pressure experienced by young people, who are following trends which have been designed by the fashion industry and popularized by ads and celebrities. Finally, easily influenced young people who are considered to be voguish tend to appear similar. On the other hand, wish to strictly follow the trends very likely for specific group as young trendy people, while others, who are not addicted to the fashion industry (but could be interested in it), prefer to express their individuality through the cloth and how they wear it, and still be trendy. For example, they could choose trendy color or garment as a military jacket and apply makeup that is not popular, but more suits them. To sum up, despite some opinions about the identical effect of advertising on personal appearance, I strongly believe that advertising could not make the difference of individuals disappear. Although trendsetters may look the same way, they are minorities, due to most people prefer to sort out things for themselves.