ADVANTAGES OF USING COMPUTERS OUTWEIGH THE DRAWBACKS IN UNIVERSITY STUDENTS

Computers are used widely around the world especially by university students to do their homeworks and serve the internet. Even if there are some disadvantages to students, I believe the convenience usually outweighs any drawbacks. One of the biggest drawbacks of computer usage in university students is that it can be the rising costs for several devices. University students have to purchase a computer and copyrighted programmes which is quite expensive for some students who need to take out loans to pay their tuition. A related criticism is that it leads to an unhealthy lifestyle. Due to utility devices, computers have various functions to assist users such as games and entertainment contents. Consequently, some students spend a lot of time in front of the computers rather than going out for exercise. Despite these drawbacks, we cannot deny that computers are necessary tools for education because students can use search engines such as Google or Bing via computers for their assignments and research. As a result, it can lead learners through the sources of information which are up-to-date that is greater than textbooks in libraries. Furthermore, there is also an enormous benefit for students in the spread of COVID 19, all universities in Thailand have an online study policy so computers become an important tool for students who have to study at their home in order to prevent the pandemic infection. In conclusion, although there are some disadvantages for computer usage, it can provide more advantages for university students. Hence, they have to take a break from their computers and use it for educational purposes.