Advantages of studying at home and going to school

Home schooling has been quite popular these days. More and more institutions using this method are seen in advertisements from the internet, magazines and broadsheets. It is often being debated whether home schooling is much effective than going to school. This essay will discuss about the advantages of both methods. Home schooling has been very convenient for some parents. This is particularly preferred by parents who are working from home and single mothers. They are able to manage their time efficiently and are very hand-on with the learning of their children. Although tuition fee for this method is more expensive, other costs for transportation fees are cut-off. The safety of their kids is also ensured. Going to school on the other hand, is being preferred by parents who are traditional and conservative. This method develops their social interaction skills through various ways. Day to day conversations, groups projects and school activities are some examples. School subjects such as Physical Education and Music develops their strength and creativity. Being able to interact with other students and teachers improves the children’s self-confidence and self-esteem. Most importantly, independence is given priority as early as the third grade. Both methods have positive effects on a child’s development. But I strongly believe that going to school is still the best method. Being able to interact with teachers and students strengthens a child’s social skills, which is very important as she grows older. A child’s independence will surely help them with the struggles that they will be facing. Leadership and excellent decision-making skills will also be developed. I firmly believe that face to face education is still the best method for a child’s development.