advantages of a vegetarian diet

A well-balanced vegan diet can provide many benefits. The two most significant advantages of a vegetarian diet are decreasing the risk of chronic disease and reducing greenhouse gas emissions caused by food production. Firstly, a vegan diet consumes exclusively plant-based food. Vegetables contain significant sources of many nutrients. Furthermore, most vegetables are naturally low in fat and calories. Hence, a non-vegetarian will be more likely to suffer from a severe disease such as high blood pressure and cholesterol than a genuine vegan. Secondly, livestock agriculture is a source of methane, a potent greenhouse gas. Methane is the major contributor to climate change, and Cattle-related human activities cause it. If many people consume greener food than meats, farmers will cut back abruptly on breeding. Consequently, the consumption of plant-based foods could reduce greenhouse gases and global acidification. In conclusion, a vegetarian diet is better for your health and could help protect the environment.