Advantages and Disadvantages – Working from Home

Nowadays, as technology is more and more reliable, people are easy to complete their work as well. Therefore, most people choose the way that they can work from home rather than work at the office due to its advantages. But, whether does working from home also have any disadvantages? In this essay, I will specify both pros and cons of working from home. I will start by looking at the advantages. One of the major main plus points of working from home is that people do not have to spend time commuting to work. By not sitting in a car or bus in traffic, people can not only save time, save money for transport fees but also cut traffic congestion off. Obviously, this is a good way to contribute to environment -protecting programe. Moreover, all the time spent traveling can be used to have breakfast, prepare for a day full of energy. That means, people will have a term of sleep longer and they can wake up later than regular. For instance, in the context the office starts at 9 am. People who have to commute to work, usually wake up at 7: 30 a. m or sooner, but people who work from home can get up later, maybe at 8: 30 a. m instead. Besides, working from home means you will work at your own environment. But it does not mean that you have to inside all day. You can work in the garden, library or wherever makes you feel convenient to work. In addition, while white-collar people often make it look like they are doing work although they are wasting time, you will plan personaly a flexible schedule, when to work and when to relax. This can lead to less stress and help you give out better ideas easily for work and improve productivity. Turning into the other side, working from home is easy to get distracted by external factors. First thing is that people will be tempted to lie on the bed and watch TV or listen to music; Second thing is so much noise from family members. Moreover, the internet also create a field of distractions like films, advertisements and etc. All of them can make people less concentrate and forget what they are doing. So, they will not complete their work in time. Obviously, these distractions will affect to effective work badly. Another drawback is the feeling of isolation because no one surrounding to talk to. Working from home is the same mean of reducing face to face interactions among colleagues. When all of colleagues present at the office, you just turn right or turn left to discuss with someone and get an instant answer. But now, you have to pick up a phone, find a name which sometimes does not have available on your phone and finally make a call. In unfortunate case, the needed person does not present on the other side of the phone. Moreover, despite the more developing Internet, the online contact also can make it difficult to specify in some complex issues. In conclusion, despite the fact that working from home also exists some disadvantages, these days it becomes a common way in young ages generation. In my view, the benefits or the drawbacks depend on awareness of employees, they should memorise what they should and should not do in the work time to get maximum productivity.