ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF USING CREDIT CARDS

Credit cards become more and more popular; furthermore, the number of people using credit cards keeps increasing. However, most people do not take into account drawbacks and benefits of using them. Using credit cards has both advantages and disadvantages for a person. There are many benefits of using credit cards for a person. First of all, a credit card is a quick source of funds in an emergency. Most people do not carry a great deal of money in their daily life; as a consequence, finding funds in an emergency is a problem for most people. People can get rid of this problem by using credit cards. In addition, credit cards help people to improve their credit scores. For instance, one can improve his/her credit score by paying his/her debts regularly. Although there are some advantages of using credit cards for a person, there are also many disadvantages. Firstly, credit cards encourage impulsive and unnecessary purchases. People can buy impulsive and unnecessary things because of knowing the fact that they can afford them by using their credit cards. As a consequence of this situation, many people exceed their credit card limits and have difficulties in paying their debts. Secondly, as I mentioned above, credit cards help people to improve their credit scores. However, it has a bad impact on the credit score in some cases. For example, if a person does not pay his debts regularly, his/her credit score decreases. To sum up, there are both drawbacks and benefits of using credit cards for a person. Therefore, people must consider the advantages and disadvantages of credit cards before using them.