Advantages and disadvantages of repeat driving tests

The growing number of cars and reckless driving are the major causes of increasing road accidents these days. Therefore, many people, as well as some politicians, express their view that repetitive driving tests, and not just one test to get the licence, should be in place. This essay outlines some advantages as well as disadvantages of the continuous testing process and opines that this has more benefits. To start with the demerits, multiple tests may unnecessarily impose a burden on people. This is because they will have to prepare for the test, pay for it, and allocate time for the test in order to renew the licence. As a result, many people may tend to avoid the tests, and one day, get pulled over and fined for an outdated licence. Moreover, it will cost money to the authority as well. Therefore, it may not solve the issue easily while both the drivers and the authority will be under pressure. To outline the advantages, road safety in a country is a major concern and so is the obligation of legislators regarding this. Increasing vehicular movements and driver's recklessness is primarily responsible for accidents on the roads. Drivers get outdated and more inept to new road rules and safety practices. For example, with age, many drivers may not see the traffic signals and road signs easily. As a result, such drivers may potentially hit other moving vehicles and people. Therefore, the repeat tests for driving, from time to time, will definitely improve the safety on roads. Moreover, many young drivers do not abide by the traffic rules, and continuous tests would ensure their awareness of safe driving. Finally, when people will have to take driving tests periodically, they will remain updated about traffic and safety rules. In conclusion, reoccurring driving tests improve people's driving accuracy, make them aware of safety and laws, and find out potentially risky drivers. So the benefits of such tests surpass the drawbacks.