advantages and disadvantages of only one language spoken globally

As tourism gained a widespread popularity nowadays, it has paved the way for english to be the most significant language globally. It is argued by some people that this trend will make english the only language spoken in the world in future. This essay will examine the merits and demerits of using only a common language for communication and provide a logical conclusion. On the one hand, the main advantage of communicating only in one language throughout the world is that it brings people of various countries and culture together as the boundaries set by language between people of different society will no longer exist. Moreover, there is no doubt that language has always been a barrier for mingling and clear communication for people from different countries. For instance, a non english speaker will find it difficult to live in a country where english is the primary language as the person would not be able to socialise or make friends. These problems could be avoided if people start using only one language for communicating. On the downside, world will loose the diverse varieties of languages which are in use in different corners of the globe. Furthermore, native languages are bonded with the culture of those countries and disappearance of these languages will lead to the extinction of specific cultures as well. For example, the oldest language of india, tamil is linked to the culture of that particular part of the country and people have an attachment towards the language. Apart from this, the numerous range of music and songs human beings enjoying today will be erased if only one language came in to use in the earth. To conclude, although there are few negative effects of using just one language globally, it has an extremely positive influence in uniting people from different countries together. Hence i believe that these benefits outweighs its drawbacks.