Advantages And Disadvantages Of Online Shopping

Humans are social beings. They need each other in their life processes. As long as people exist, they will share, communicate and trade. These are the main factors of shopping. So it is easy to say shopping has been in people’s lives since the beginning of human existence. Even though it changes every year, for the last decade, online shopping is proof of that. In this world where everything is getting more practical, the evolution of shopping is not surprising. However, online shopping has not only advantages but some disadvantages too. First of all, online shopping offers comfort that is hard to reject. Shopping hasn’t got to be the main activity after online shopping has developed that much. Everyone can easily buy what they want while doing another activity. In addition to this, online shopping has got more variety. It isn’t like shopping in a mall with few stores and a close selection range. That allows reaching exact needs without even trying hard and that gives more control on to the people. They don’t have to buy what they don’t like because of insufficient options. Therefore, it has a big effect on prices because products come directly from the manufacturer or seller without involving middlemen. Plus, it's easier to compare prices and find a better deal. Many online sites offer discount coupons and rebates, as well. On the other hand, there are obvious disadvantages of online shopping. Firstly, there is a larger risk of fraud like hacking, credit card scams, counterfeit products. Moreover, the product on the internet may never exist. Even if it exists, there is no proof that it will work. Trust is one of the cornerstones of shopping and an obstacle to online shopping. Even if it manages to build trust, it would result in the collapse of shopping mall industries because there would be no reason to go there and it can affect the employees in that sector very badly. This situation would be a problem more than just an economic one. It would hurt the employees whom work in the industry emotionally and this situation may affect the society they live in. In conclusion, although online shopping has some disadvantages, it has more advantages for people, especially those who live with busy calendars. After these years with online shopping, it will probably stay in people's lives and will continue to make shopping easier and better.