Advantages and Disadvantages of Online Courses

Enrollments in online classes have grown sharply, due to the outbreak of Covid19. This technique has various merit and demerits. Firstly, taking online learning offers many benefits to the community. one of them is convenience. People who enroll in online classes have more flexibility than conventional classes, also, they don’t require physical attendance. thus, they can pursue their course regardless of time and place according to their own pace and their ability levels. Additionally, this method brings about a good opportunity for learning for persons who don’t have sufficient self-esteem. Some people fear of recognize their weakness by others, fortunately, online courses have provided a circumstance for individuals to be anonymous, also, participate in these courses helps people struggle to overcome their irrational fear of speaking in public. Consequently, unconfident people get rid of isolation feeling. Third, the online courses are mostly available throughout the year, whereas classroom teaching is restricted to only a few cycles in a year. Despite a variety of benefits of online learning, there are some disadvantages associated with studying online. Firstly, the student and the tutor cannot have physical interaction in the sense that, it does not foster interpersonal relationships. Also, students may find it hard to understand or interpret facial tutor expressions due to the mostly the courses are programmed and there is no teacher available. Additionally, it's possible students zone out of their classes due to the lack of direct supervision of teachers. Moreover, the attention span of learners may be very limited due to multiple distractions in a home environment, for instance, doorbell ringing, dog barking, etc. , resulting in a reduced focus on the studies. Also, the flexibility to take the course at will may lead to putting off the learning. To conclude, several pros and cons revolve around students educating themselves online. However, the effectiveness of online courses can be assessed only on the individual’s performance and attitude and it varies from one person to another.