advantages and disadvantages of living and studying abroad

Nowadays, more and more people are choosing to live abroad to gain better work and study prospects. For many, changes in the living environment can be promising whilst for others, they may be detrimental. In the following essay, I will discuss the pros and cons of living abroad. On the one hand, moving away can make several improvements to our prospects. Staying in a foreign country can broaden your horizons: immigrants can meet people from various cultural backgrounds, thus having the chance to get access to diverse cuisine, history, and customs. To foreign employers, by getting exposed to different traditions, they can adapt valuable social and working skills, which is especially necessary to ones who work in the service industry or a multinational environment. By communicating with native speakers, foreigners' languages skills can also be rapidly improved. Such opportunity is undeniably helpful to overseas students, for they can have a better education and get higher qualifications, which may enhance prospects on their return. Turning to the other side of the matter, starting afresh overseas might be arduous. Many incongruous individuals find integrating into an exotic society intolerable. They might have difficulties habituating external customs or getting over the language barrier. Expatriates might also be discriminated against by the aboriginals, creating a sense of isolation or homesickness. Financial problems can also become a daily headache to immigrants, especially those from less-developed countries. To conclude, starting life in a foreign country has never been easy since there are many issues immigrants have to deal with. However, it can provide them with myriad life feasibility, so if we can manage to overcome cultural shock and financial problems, the advantages of living abroad are unmatched.