improving the environment by individuals or authorities

The issue of improving the environment by individuals or authorities in several countries has grown in importance over the past few decades. Personally, I agree with the idea that individuals are unable to do a significant impact on improving the environment. Obviously, with regard to environmental improvement, the governments and large companies can play their part by facilitating some situations. They can invest a sizable amount of money so as to preserve the environment. So it is more likely to the environment become improve in the future. Moreover, the government can impose some hefty fines for those who damage the environment. As a result, these fines can act as a deterrent in order to protect the environment. For instance, in my country Iran, people who do illegal hunting are known as criminals and also they are severely punished by governments. With decreasing illegal hinting, It seems that it can help to protect some endangered species. On the other hand, there are those who subscribe to the view that people can do many things to improve the environment. They insist that common people and communities can play a vital role to protect the environment through social and voluntary activities such as environmental tours or nature activities. However, I do not find this argument valid because these associations or NGOs are usually doing volunteer working on a limited scale. So it is not adequate to improve the vast area of the environment and their impact are not sufficient. To sum up. due to the reasons mentioned above, I would argue that the role of the governments and large companies are more prominent in both economical points of view and llegal restriction.