advantages and disadvantages of advertising

These days, advertisements have become an indispensable part of everybody's lives. Some argue that this is a good thing whereas others feel that it can have negative impact in our lives. I believe that adverts are absolutely essential to ensure that wider populations get to know about the products that are available in the consumer world. On the one hand, the cost of advertising can increase the cost of consumer products. This is because companies and conglomerates spend billions of dollars in order to advertise a product. In the end, companies are forced to include these costs into their product which ultimately makes them expensive. For example, a beats headphone only costs 18$ to manufacture, but it retails at around 100-200$ just because they have popular celebrities endorsing the product and they have to increase the price to maximize profits. This essay disagrees with this notion as advertisements are essential to make sure that the general public are aware of the products that wish to offer. On the other hand, advertising products is one way to ensure that the general public get to know a lot about products they wish to buy. If adverts were not present, then the general population would not have many options when it comes to buying new products. For instance, without advertisements, the people would not be aware of the latest technological products like smartphones or computers. Moreover, companies like Microsoft or Apple would go bankrupt within months as their products would not sell quickly without adverts. So this essay agrees with the opinion that ads have had a positive impact in people's lives by imparting knowledge about the consumer goods. In conclusion, although many people are concerned about the negative aspects of advertisements, this essay believes that this is not the case as the advantages of advertisements far outweigh the disadvantages.