ADVANTAGES AND DISADVANTAGES OF ADVERTISEMENTS ON TV OR THE INTERNET

Nowadays, the development of advertising on the Internet has big impact on human life. Therefore, the below essay will outline some common advantages and disadvantages of this tendency. On the one hand, it is undeniable that advertising has a lot of upsides. Firstly, advertising is of benefit to help products sell quickly and increase profits for the company. For example, Bao Vina, which specializes in TV production in Binh Duong, has increased advertising for new products via the Internet platform after the Covid-19 pandemic, contributing to a quick economic recovery with a large profit return the money lost when inactive for a long time. Secondly, advertising promotes competition among goods, leading to growing product quality. Take Pepsi and Coca-Cola as an example. They are extremely famous drinking water companies in Vietnam and always compete with each other. Therefore, they are always creative and increasingly product quality is shown through advertisements to want to attract more customers than rival companies. On the other hand, advertising on social networks also brings people unwanted effects. Firstly, social media advertisements find it very easy to manipulate buyers into unnecessary items and this is waste of money. Take my aunt as an example. She tends to know how to balance the expenses for the family. However, last month, when she saw an advertisement for a pair of shoes on TV, she could not control her actions and ordered it immediately even though she knew it was unnecessary. Therefore, it cost her all the living expenses of this month. Secondly, if advertisements constantly bombarded on media, it will make viewers unable to focus on what they are doing and lose their mood. For instance, I am really annoyed when I have to see so many ads when I visit my learning websites and it makes distractive. In conclusion, this above essay has proven that advertising bring people both upsides and downsides.