Advantages and Disadvantage of tourism

In today's world, tourism is an important socio - economic activity. It brings a lot of advantages to economic development of many countries, but it also has certain disadvantages. This essay will indicate the advantages and disadvantages of tourism and give a logical conclusion that will satisfy the readers. Tourism is now recognised as an industry generating a number of social and economic benefits. It promotes national integration and international understanding. For instance, a national survey found that a substantial proportion of people who had been abroad for a holiday said they had improved their knowledge of the country's language, customs and cultures. Moreover, tourism is economically beneficial as it promotes employment and generates additional revenue from related industries such as transportation, accommodation, catering and retail. Tourism is as much a part of socio-economic development as any other related activity. Tourism, while beneficial in some ways, can also bring about certain disadvantages for both the host and guest nations. In recent years, with the increase of tourist flow, environmental pollution has also increased, what's more, noise pollution in tourist areas is becoming serious and can easily cause increased sources of noise and disturbances. More importantly, the large number of tourists, spending money and often carrying valuables such as cameras, phones and jewelry, has increased the robber attraction to criminals and becomes subsequent robberies, drug trafficking and entails social evils and crimes are serious to the country. Nevertheless, good management of local government's tourism revenue and ensuring social security can overcome these limitations. To summarize, tourism is the main source of foreign exchange income for many countries, but it also has significant drawbacks that need to minimize. With all mentioned above, I personally believe that these benefits of tourism outweigh its drawbacks.