Advances in technology mean that many people today work from home. What has led to this change? Is it a positive or negative development?

Technology like internet has transformed the lives of people. A lot of employers do office work from home because of the advancements in technology. Although there are certain drawbacks, but benefits definitely outweigh the disadvantages. To embark on, the major pros of working from home is that it saves employee time, and they can utilize this time on fruitful work of organization, as a result, company will achieve target in short period of time. This is because workers have to travel for work, and their time are wastage as they have to wait for long hours in traffic. In the past, individual used to travel for business meeting and work from one country to another country and organization had to bear expensive ticket price and waste of time, but now they can take the advantage of various platforms. For instance, zoom and other apps offers reliable online working and meeting environment from their homes. In addition, pregnant women who are unable to go to workplace because of her health condition can work from home, and this will benefit her babies and her health too. Also, at the same time women can take care of family member as well as can spend quality time with their family. Not only female can help their child in their study but also they can raise their kids in better ways as these day because of the busy schedule of their parents in office they are not giving time to their kids which hampers children’s study as well as they are likely to involve in illegal activities. On the other hand, traffic congestion and environmental issue will be reduced since working form their house makes road free from traffic jam and pollution problems. During the office peak time there is vehicle jam in road and this waste the time of employees. For instance, Kathmandu, which is the capital city of Nepal during office hours there is traffic congestion in road due to the fact that many people travel to work at same time. Many people opine that increasing number of private vehicle for the work will causes pollution problem as the number of cars increase in the road these cars generate large amount of fuel which is harmful for environment as well as human beings, consequently, the issue can be mitigate if organization encourage their employers to work from their homes. In addition, people can engage in social activities, and can help society in various ways. In conclusion, we cannot deny the fact that online work brings several merits in the community by solving the issue of vehicular traffic and reduction in air pollution.