Experimentation on animals

The use of animals for scientific or medical research purposes have been debated for quite a while now. More than 1 million animals are being used for these purposes every year and there are lots of different opinions about whether we should continue experimenting on animals. I personally believe that any experiment done on an animal for scientific and medical purposes are unethical and that they should be banned. First of all, humans and animals don’t always react the same way to a drug. There are many differences between animals and humans. To do a scientific or medical experiment on an animal, only for it to be a failure would be a waste of unnecessary life, which unfortunately happens quite often. A lot of the time, the drugs tested on animals aren’t put up on the market even though they work on animals because of the fact that humans don’t always react the same to it. This is a waste of precious life and also a waste of money too. Also, I believe that there is no need to cause pain and torture animals when due to technological developing there are computer systems, models, human tissues and more focused clinical studies that can show us what happens to our bodies that will help these experiments without using any animals. In addition to this, animals feel the same pain and fear just as we do, they are living beings and their lives matter. Experimenting and injecting things in them should be a violation of their rights, which would be the case if humans were the ones being experimented on. Any benefits that humans would gain through these tests should be irrelevant when it comes to violating animals rights. While it’s true that to stop experiments done on animals could also be unethical due to the fact that it would dramatically affect the discoveries of new knowledge and the flow of treatments for those with health conditions who desperately need them, i also think that we can find better solutions to these problems. In conclusion, i think that animals should have the same protection and consideration as humans and they should not have to go through these painful experiments and risk dying. We should all be more aware and conscious of this situation and try to make others more aware of this as well. Let’s protect animals from any pain that would be caused by these researches.