Some people say that museums should charge for admission. However, others say they should not.

While some people emphasize that museums have an admission charge, others are of the opinion that entrance to them should be free of cost. I support the former view because such a fee will not only provide financial support to museums, but also benefit their staff. On the one hand, various factors are there why a section of society advocates that museums should have an entry fee, and I also favor this. First and foremost, the management of museums can earn a great deal of money. This money can be used for various purposes such as renovating the premise and organizing cultural events as well ad exhibitions, which can assist in maintaining the building for a longer time and offering satisfactory service to the visitors. To cite an example, since the local council of Bathinda city, started charging an entrance fee to visit Bathinda Museum, the condition of it has greatly improved. Another point is that the staff including archivists, curators, and managers of the museums can make a living with the help of earned money from the visitors. However, If museums had not additional source of income, many of them would be devoid of staff members. On the other hand, it is often argued by some that entrance to the building should be chargeless. The first argument behind their ideology is that granted an entrance free might have a negative effect on the admission figures. This might be because some sections of society including the poor, students, and the elderly who do not have enough to pay for the entrance might stop visiting. Take london Museum for example, where no fee was taken from the visitors in the past, but since the management commenced booking admission tickets, there has been a significant fall in museum-goers. The other is to affect the popularity of a museum over others, which means depriving people of lack an opportunity to access most of the vital information about history, art, and science. This may eventually put the existence of museums at stake. In conclusion, although people are divided on different opinions, I firmly believe that imposing charge while visiting museums can be hugely beneficial in terms of generating revenue for a museum and its emplyees.