Adults always say that life was better in their childhood and school days than it is now. Why do they say so? with this statement?

It is indeed true that adults in almost all the societies complain that their childhood was superior than the life today's children live. There could be certain reasons behind such a thought but as a whole, their argument seems one sided There are many factors that compel today's adults to think like this. One of them is the tendency to psychologically associate the experiences of the lifestyle to our identity. Most of us do this and hence when the generation changes, there are many who cannot accept the change because that modern ways cannot be identified with the life that they had lived before a few decades. Next, with advancing age, the pace of learning declines and people lose their adaptability to fit themselves in the changing lifestyle. This is troublesome for many adults and forces them to think that the life during their childhood was better. Lastly, globalisation has influenced our lives tremendously. Today, no society can exist in an isolated manner as was possible in the olden times; the happenings of one affect the other as well. Thus, cultural notions are challenged frequently as you cannot shut your doors to the world. For example, oriental people think their culture is invaded by the western culture and occidental people think their economy is dominated by the skilled people of eastern countries. However, as per my opinion, we live in a world which is continuously changing. We live in unending flux where nothing is permanent and in such a context, it is futile to label something as good or bad. We should accept the changes that come with time and do our best to move with them. Hence, the argument that life in the past was better is not acceptable to me.