Many countries around the world are turning to renewable forms of energy to supply their power needs. Is this a positive or negative development?

In recent times, countries have begun to use green energy instead of traditional fossil fuels. Although changing to renewables is not ideal in some situations, I am of the opinion that the movement toward renewable energy is a change for the better. There are a number of contexts in which the movement away from fossil fuels could be problematic. Energy sources such as coal, oil and gas are currently cheaper than renewables like solar and wind. Moving to renewables requires significant investment in wind, solar and other expensive technologies. Seeing that a majority of countries are poor or heavily in debt, green energy is currently a luxury that only rich nations can afford. Furthermore, changing energy sources can cause serious economic and social upheaval. For example, many communities are built around the extraction of coal, and green energy will result in the loss of jobs and opportunity in these areas. However, changing to green energy is generally a positive step for several important reasons. One of these is the fact that renewable energy is the only realistic way to deal with global warming caused by burning fossil fuels. If this problem is not addressed, more severe heat waves, droughts, floods and other extreme weather events are predicted. Secondly, pollution is a major problem in almost every large city around the world. Every day people die from cancer and respiratory problems that can be solved with a transition to renewable energy.