Addicted to the social network of the student

In recent years, the number of social media addicts has increased incredibly and become a big problem. Undeniably, this can bring humans, especially students some negative impacts on their life. And they will be discussed in this paper. First and foremost, health problems are an outstanding negative effect of this issue. Eye diseases are one of the most common diseases among students today. The more they pay attention to social networks, the more they will use electronic devices such as smartphones, laptops, and tablets. That directly affects the eyes because they always have to work continuously. Light from electronic devices will make their eyes weak and unable to see clearly everything around them. One study suggested that more than 800 million people worldwide are nearsighted (7-16 years old). In Vietnam, it is estimated that more than 3 million children aged 0-15 years have refractive errors such as severe myopia and astigmatism. Another negative side that social media addiction brings about is social interaction. Students do not have time for their families and friends. They pay more attention to their mutual friends and online shopping, online games. This obviously makes them less communicative with others face - to - face. Some recent research revealed that more than a half of students in Europe are seriously getting addicted to social media. This issue seems to be worse in the developed world. In short, social media addiction can bring students some major negative effects as discussed above. They should be aware of the issue and think wisely when they use social media for their study and daily life.