According to some working parents, day-care centers are the best for taking care of their non-school going children. Other working parents, however, feel that, relatives are much better in giving care to such young children.

Since both the parents in most nuclear families are professionals nowadays, they either rely on day-care centers or relatives for taking care of their pre-school children for the day. This essay focuses on both the options elaborately in the following paragraphs. Day-care centers provide some exclusive care unavailable at other places, which makes such centers so preferable to some working parents. To being with, the caregivers at the center are professionally trained to take care off and teach such young children. Moreover, Day-care centers are often equipped with learning and entertaining materials to facilitate learning through fun and games for such young children. In addition, the disciplined atmosphere of the center makes a child self-dependent. One more obvious plus is that, Opportunity of spending time with other children of the same age makes a child more socially mature. These are the reasons why some working parents are in favor of day-care centers so much. Relatives, on the other hand, do have their own kind of perks in providing care for such young children, which make them preferable to other working parents. First and foremost, relatives are more trustworthy and sincere in taking care of the babies, and also more patient. Then again, spending time with kith and keen obviously strengthens the family bonds. This also ensures that children pick up family values, which has a deep impact on shaping their personalities. Last but not the least, having relatives as caregivers cost much less, which is helpful for working parents who are on a tight budget. For these reasons, some working parents prefer to leave their children with the relatives rather than at the day-care centers. To conclude, it is clear by now from the discussion above why some working parents prefer day-care centers while others opt for relatives. I personally prefer day-care centers as children grow up to be self-dependent as well as socially mature by spending time there. However, people will have to depend more on day-care centers in the future as branches of families will keep drifting apart for professional or other reasons.