According to some experts, children should begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

According to some experts, children should begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. This essay will discuss why the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages. To commence with, when children are young, children will easily absorb foreign languages and will be easier to adapt to new languages than when they are adults. Children at this age have the ability to discover their own rules in an entirely natural way. As a result, the teacher's information will be absorbed efficiently and easily by the students. Secondly, learning foreign languages at an early age will aid in the development of children’s thinking, analytical and reasoning abilities. For instance, many studies have indicated that learning a foreign language, particularly for youngsters, is beneficial to the brain. Learning two languages and translating from one to the other keeps the child's brain active and develops nervous system adaptability. On the other hand, there also some drawback would arise. Learning English early can easily cause children to have language disorders. When parents allow their children to study English, they will unconsciously learn another language. During this time, the mixing and interference between the two languages, English and Vietnamese, may easily lead youngsters to get confused. In conclusion, while some people feel that children should study a foreign language in secondary school rather than primary school, I believe that children should acquire a foreign language in secondary school.