According to one survey the life expectancy of people is increasing in developed countries. What problems will this cause for individuals and society

Long life span in rich countries is on the rise in recent times according to studies. Although this is a good development since death rate has declined drastically, it has issues that affects individuals and the community as a whole. In this essay, I will elaborate on some of the problems this may cause to people and the society. Firstly, increased longevity of life may result in high exposure to stress as well as health related problems to an individual. As an human beings age, they may be faced with difficult life situations such as loss of partner, relatives and properties resulting in so much thinking predisposing them to stress which might be avoided if the one died earlier. In addition, aging is taught to be related to disease conditions because of decreased immune system and body function. For instance, disease such as diabetes, hypertension and dementia are closely linked with old age according to scientific evidence. Thus despite the prolong life associated with higher life expectancy, it might make individuals face wide range of illness and life stressors. Secondly, higher dependency on valuable resources otherwise meant for other purposes by numerous aging individuals resulting from longer life periods is another issue faced by the society that calls for an alarm. When people become old, they barely make earns meet since they may not be able to work. This makes them rely solely on the state and other members of the society to cater for their needs. To illustrate this, in a country like Britain, the government is always faced with a finicial crisis as a result of payments of social security to more and more increasingly aging population. This clearly indicates that, valuable resources which may have been used in developing other sectors in the country are channeled in catering for the aging. Finally, increased life span may mount pressures on social services such as hospitals, transport and recreational facilities. Increased life expectancy account for increased population growth aside high birth rates and decreased mortality rate, hence pressure are mounted on services that are not increasing in size and numbers. For example, in America, it believed that the rise in population growth is coming from high prolonged life which indirectly create tension on their hospitals and transport facilities. Consequently, higher rates of life expectancy indirectly affects amenities in the society. In conclusion, even though long life is one major benefit of increased life span, there are much problem such as diseases, stressful situations, and a wider effect on the society accompanying it.