Academic achievement at school or university is the only true measures of a person’s intelligence.

Children’s academic achievement is always a burning issue for parents because many of them believe that grades will determine the level of intelligence of the child. To my mind, I completely disagree with this view for following reasons. It is true that a school certificate will convey how hard and acumen one is in absorbing the lesson. However, it does not always accurately assess the ability of learners because more and more students tend to use different cheating methods to receive higher scores in the test. Moreover, in fact, there are many people who don’t need to attend any college but still succeed and contribute a lot to society. Thomas Edison is a prime example. He was expelled from school for his own mischief, then never went to school again. Nevertheless, he still became a great inventor when he invented the light bulb to help people shine in the dark. On the other hand, I believe that the intelligence of a scholar is not only reflected in an academic degree, but also depends on the ability to absorb what has been learned and use it to analyze and handle real-life situations. Through studies, scientists confirm that the brain is further divided into different categories including linguistic intelligence, musical intelligence, spatial intelligence, etc. For example, a person with musical intelligence can easily play a difficult piece of music or write melodies that leave an impression on an audience without necessarily excelling in tertiary school. In conclusion, one’s perception should not be judged by education qualification. Everyone has their own advantages and making good use of that strength will succeed in life.