according to a recent study, the more time people use the internet, the less time they spend with real human beings. should we worry about the effect this is having on social interaction or should we see the internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities worldwide? what are hour views?

In modern society, people tend to spend burgeoning amount of time on the Internet than with others. I strongly agree with the perspective that this phenomenon of ascending Internet usage has severe consequences in social interactions of humans. The primary effect is less time to socialize as a result of surfing the Internet for an avalanche of information. Many people spend plethora of time reading various online news articles, Wikipedia pages instead of engaging in more social activities. Consequently, people are inclined to have fewer times to meet others and might inadvertently start to ignore acquaintances, friends or even family members. Moreover, online digital entertainment catalyzes the surge in less group events in real life. Nowadays, many people watch videos on YouTube or Vimeo, listens to streaming music on iTunes or Google Music, play massively multiplayer games online and so on. The aforementioned activities cause a hindrance to attend social gatherings such as parties and trips. Therefore, people have initial awkward interactions when they do meet offline. Furthermore, communications software has compounded the demand for having fewer real human interactions. People use online web properties such as Facebook, Twitter, mobile chat clients and video conferencing applications to keep in touch instead of meeting someone face-to-face. Consequently, some people may be nervous when they meet someone outside of the digital world. Having considered a range of arguments, I have drawn the conclusion that burgeoning Internet usage affects social interactions in the real world. People may start to ignore others, have awkward interactions offline and be nervous to meet someone physically anywhere.