According to a recent headline, “London bans 'unrealistic body images' from transport system

London city has banned unhealthy and unrealistic advertisements from it’s transportation system. In detail, advertisements that create extreme images of ideal bodiesys and may create body confidence issues are no longer permitted to be on the public transport system in London. Many people support this policy. First, this kind of advertisement may strike some people, especially women as offensive, and make them ashamed of their body. But there is no definition in the beauty of bodies and therefore, these offensive advertisements should be removed. Second, these advertisements often include too skinny body images, but they are unhealthy. And also people who have watched these types of images feel ashamed of their bodies by comparing theirs with extreme images on the ads, and sometimes try to do a rapid dieting. But such rapid dieting can cause serious health issues and is especially harmful for young people. Finally, too much obsession in one’s body may sometimes cause an eating disorder. This is certainly a serious problem as we can’t live without eating. Unfortunately, many famous people have died from this symptom. In spite of these negative effects that could be caused by inappropriate advertisements, some people say that banning certain types of advertisements is an infringement of the right to express. But I don’t think so, for the images these ads are creating are quite far away from reality and they are making people feel obnoxious and even harmful in many cases. Right of expression should be restricted in such cases. In conclusion, because of these reasons, I think London’s choice to ban all ads that include unrealistic body images from the transport system was right.