Accommodation at Trentford University

Undergraduate students live in University halls of residence during their first year at the University; some live in university student houses. In their second and subsequent years, most live in privately rented accommodation, although it is possible for some second-and third–year students to live in halls of residence or student houses. The application process for places in halls and student houses for the following year takes place during the spring term. The University Accommodation Office does its best to offer university accommodation to all those who apply by the closing date, but it is unfortunately not usually possible to accommodate everyone who applies. Postgraduate students live in university student houses or in private sector accommodation. University accommodation is guaranteed, subject to certain conditions, to all new undergraduate students and to new postgraduate students paying fees at the overseas rate. It is necessary for the Accommodation Office to have received your application form by the stipulated closing date in order to qualify for the guarantee–read the Accommodation booklets carefully for the conditions. It is essential that you complete and return an accommodation form if the Accommodation Office is to be able to plan for your arrival. University accommodation is provided for one academic year only, with no guarantee of accommodation for the second and subsequent years. Therefore, financial plans must include the possibility of moving into the privately rented sector at a higher cost. Before renting any accommodation you will have to sign a contract committing you to that accommodation for the period stated. Read the conditions carefully before signing. If you do not understand any part of the contract, ask the staff at the Accommodation Office: they will be happy to explain it to you. If you leave university accommodation before the end of your contract a severance fee will be charged, (one-fifth of the year’s rent in self-catered accommodation, one-eighth in catered accommodation) unless there are extenuating circumstances. If it is not possible for you to move into permanent accommodation as soon as you arrive in Trentford, you will need to arrange temporary accommodation for the first few days. The University will have a limited number of rooms available in a Hall of Residence from, approximately, mid-September until the Friday before the start of term. If all University temporary accommodation is taken, you may need to stay in a guesthouse or the Trentford Youth Hostel. Guesthouses cost from about 25 pounds per night for bed and breakfast. The Youth Hostel costs 15 pounds per night. A list of hotel and guesthouses and details of charges can be obtained from the University Accommodation Office. Suitcases can safely be left in the International Students Advisory Service’s office until your permanent accommodation has been arranged.