academic part 2 generic engineering

Generic engineering is a controversial topic around the world. Some people believe that it has a great potential in saving the lives of critically ill patients, while others would argue the ethical issues brought by this newly developed technology. It is true that human beings, especially those who are suffering from severe medical conditions, can benefit from generic engineering. In terms of organ transplant, for example, thousands of patients on the long waiting list passed away every year before they could find suitable organ donors. With the use of generic engineering technology, those people would have received organs which were created in a medical laboratory. Besides, genetic engineering may also be used to treat some significant medical diseases in embryos before they are born. For example, there was a scientist who used genetic cutting and replacement method help a HIV positive mother giving birth to healthy twins. Generic engineering also creates some difficult-to-handle issues in our society. Just to use the example mentioned above, the scientist was sued, and the court gave him a jail sentence for five years. The reason was that he used several embryos to generate two healthy embryos which later were later born by the HIV mother. Other ‘unhealthy’ embryos, sadly, were disregarded. It remains controversial whether the scientist had the right to use these embryos as gene donors. Most countries do not permit to apply generic engineering to their citizens. In conclusion, it is inclusive whether our society is going to benefit from generic engineering. The ethical and legal issues may be well discussed and resolved before generic engineering entering the market.