At the present time, the population of some countries includes a relatively large number of young adults, compared with the number of older people. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

Two-thirds of the world’s older persons live in developing regions, where their numbers are growing faster than in the developed regions. It may be good for some countries who have more young adults because they will be key contributors to their country. I believe that this has more benefits than drawbacks. Firstly, Businesses will increasingly benefit from operating in some countries that have a large number of young adults because a growing young adult provides a valuable economic resource for domestic and international business such as provides a large and cheap workforce. Furthermore, the country will also benefit from a high young adult population in terms of a growing market for consumer products targeting young adults. However, largely young adults will prove an economic drag until they join the working population since they will require support from both the country and family members. On the other hand, a larger population of aging people can add experience to the workforce since they have more experience in this field. They could use their experience to help uphold morals and values in a country. Besides, the older people contribute free labor to community and government projects after retirement and it could help to grow the economy of the country. Even so, the country that has more older people should provide health care and sheltered housing leads to increased taxes on a proportionally small workforce. To conclude, older people should not be considered a burden for the country, however, the young adult has more to contribute to society and the country as a whole. It could be more beneficial for a country to have an active workforce than older people.