In the present day, food from around the globe makes its way to our plates, thanks to free trade and modern technology. While this phenomenon has some downsides, I think it is ultimately a good thing, because it allows us to experience new food cultures and improve our diets.

To understand the benefits of eating globally instead of locally, it is important to examine the causes. For one thing, trade agreements give participating countries access to food beyond what they can grow domestically. This international trade is aided by freezer transport, which can move food great distances without spoilage. As an example, free trade and food transport technology allows German diners to affordably eat pineapple, a healthy and delicious fruit that only grows in tropical regions. Through trade and technology, truly anyone can enjoy the best food the world offers. This kind of benefit opens our minds to other cultures and strengthens our bodies. For instance, someone in the United States may not have much firsthand knowledge of India, but if they are able to eat imported Indian food, they may develop an interest in the culture. As a bonus, food from India and other countries can help Americans and others to eat a balanced diet, even during times of the year when their local foods are not in season. Indian food is just one example; clearly, today we can enjoy a rainbow of national foods and nutrients. In short, trade agreements and rapid frozen food transport work together to create a better world. This new world allows us to become more aware of other cultures in a very enjoyable way while getting the nutrients we need to eat well. International food, then, is good for both our bodies and our souls.