A time when you encouraged somebody to do something that he/she didn’t want to do

Without doubt, good friends are especially important during times of crisis and turbulence. Today, I’m going to describe a time when I encouraged my best friend, Thao Linh, to overcome difficulties to achieve her parents’ long-held goal. We have known each other since high school and maintained this special bond till now. Thao Linh is a bright, carefree girl whose most special traits are a cheerful disposition and unflinching resilience. I remember ever since high school, Thao Linh has frequently been urged by her parents to try to win a prize in the National Contest for gifted students. Apparently, this is a cumbersome challenge for all students and Linh was so overwhelmed by the thought of failing that she could not concentrate on studying for the competition. In fact, she confided in me that as she was eliminated in the last round in grade 11th and had to wait for the next year- which was also her last chance. At that time, I was always beside Linh and I tried to tell her that things would become brighter and she was strong enough to confront such a challenge. Therefore, instead of being disappointed and demotivated, Linh displayed a firm commitment to try harder, not only for herself but also to meet her parents’ expectations. As a result, in grade 12, she made a substantial improvement and won a place in the school team for the National Contest and eventually won the second prize in the contest. Even though it was her who received the prize, I felt the same joy to have cheered her up and sailed her through both emotional and academic setbacks.