A rise in childhood obesity is a real threat to health with an increasing number of children now classed as overweight. What are the causes of the problem and what measures can be taken to solve them?

The problem of children’s weight gain which was always debatable has now become more controversial with many claiming that it is hazardous. This health issue is due to many factors such as lack of exercise and feasibility of junk food. However, there are number of favorable solutions to tackle this problem. The major contributing factor to child’s obesity is being less active. This stems from the advancement of technology, and children staying for long hours in front of smartphone scree or playing online video games. Many steps could be taken to solve this issue one lies on the shoulder of parents and the other on schools. Parents certainly should limit screen time as recommended by health organization in correspondence with their ages. Moreover, educational institutes should increase the hours of physical education, teach and encourage students the imports of daily physical activities to stay fit and healthy. Another contributing factor to children being overweight is the ease of having junk food nowadays. In other words, rapid food is widely spread and can be bought with a click on phone with cheap prices compared to healthy food. Furthermore, even schools started to sell junk food on campus looking for more profit. There are some obvious solutions to this problem. Firstly, government should impose more taxes on junk food making this less attractive to buy. Secondly, schools should prohibit selling or having junk food on their campuses. In addition, nutrition classes could be given to further emphasize on the significance of healthy life style. In conclusion, children’s obesity is a trending problem recently due to many reasons such as activity reduction and availability of fast food. However with the correct approach done by parents, schools and authorities the issue must come to an end.