“Write about a personal experience you’ve had learning a language. ” Information must include 1. What language did you learn (any language, including English) 2. What materials/methods used? 3. How well did these methods/materials work.

“Write about a personal experience you’ve had learning a language. ” Information must include 1. What language did you learn (any language, including English) 2. What materials/methods used? 3. How well did these methods/materials work. Learning a language is not easy, especially with a second one. I have had a bumpy ride learning many languages except with my native one: Cebuano. In my early childhood with an environment where everyone speaks the same language, it was easy for me to imitate an adult's speech and understand its variations. I have not spent a great deal of time scrutinizing its complexities since it has become second nature to me. Not until I learned English. Unlike my native language, English was introduced in various methodologies but mainly through a structural approach. I have learned vocabulary first by referring to a dictionary and using flashcards to translate objects from a native language to English, listening and repeating with a recording device for pronunciation exercises, lectures on parts of speech, verb forms, including tenses to create grammatical sentences. These are critical, but it lacks a more creative approach to solidify language learning. I was taught to read a dictionary, but extensive reading was less encouraged. It becomes as clear as crystal to me when words are represented in context. Also, reading gave me clues about the meaning and structure of the word and its use. During lectures, teacher talking time was critical but overdoing impeded my ability to rationalize, prepare, and ask clarifying questions. Overall, it's a fun and exciting journey to discover more practical and profound ways to learn a language effectively. I have appreciated the intricacy of my native language by studying the second one.