Alex a parrot-who was one of the most famous African Grey parrots in history

Alex a parrot-who was one of the most famous African Grey parrots in history, pioneered new avenues in avian intelligence. He had more than 100 sound tags for different objects, movements and colors, and was able to identify certain objects with their special material. O, cəmi altı ədədə qədər obyekt dəstlərini saya bilirdi və yeddi və səkkiz üzərində işləyirdi. Aleks riyaziyyat bacarıqlarını nümayiş etdirdi. Aleks müxtəlif hərflərin səslərini oxumağı öyrənirdi və fonemlər, sözləri təşkil edən səslər haqqında anlayışa sahib idi. When Alex was about one year old, Pepperberg bought him at a pet shop. The name Alex was acronym for avian language experiment, or avian learning experiment. He was compared to Albert Einstein and at two years old was correctly answering questions made for six-year-olds. Before Pepperberg's work with Alex, it was widely believed in the scientific community that a large primate brain was needed to handle complex problems related to language and understanding; birds were not considered to be intelligent, as their only common use of communication was mimicking and repeating sounds to interact with each other. However, Alex's accomplishments supported the idea that birds may be able to reason on a basic level and use words creatively. One of Alex’s most impressive moments was when he asked an existential question about his own appearance. He had been presented with a mirror, and—after observing himself for a moment—he asked, “What color? ” He then learned the word “gray”—the color of his feathers—after having it taught to him six times. Pepperberg wrote that Alex's intelligence was on a level similar to dolphins and great apes. She also reported that Alex seemed to show the intelligence of a five-year-old human, in some respects, and he had not even reached his full potential by the time he died. Sadly, Alex passed away on September 6, 2007 at the age of 31 of a sudden, unexpected catastrophic event associated with arteriosclerosis. By the time of his death in 2007, Alex had amassed a variety of skills generally thought beyond animal reasoning. He had proven that some birds’ intelligence is even on par with that of dolphins and primates—typically considered to be some of the world’s smartest animals.