A question has been raised whether people’s professed interest in sports has contributed to the development of society or they are merely a form of recreation.

While many people agree with the view that sports is only considered as a hobby, I still believe that sports plays a vital role in developing society. On the one hand, there are many reasons why people regard sports as a way to pass the time. Sports is considered as a type of healing activity or a hobby and many people play sports in their spare time to relax after a whole week. However, they do not know that a lot of athletes are extremely hard-working and practice to attain victory. Moreover, some people seem to invest money in sports just for entertainment while plenty of sport organizations find it difficult to get a sponsor to improve the quality of sports. For example, there are several football teams that do not have the opportunity to practice in a better environment and boost their talent due to the lack of donation and investment. On the other hand, sports contribute to the advancement of a country. Firstly, the profits brought by their winning or champions help us boost the economy of a country. If any player wins a trophy in any tournament, they will bring fame to a country and make the country become well-known all over the world. Secondly, the more people that like sports, the healthier the society. Sport players will be a strong motivation for people in every age to pay more attention in doing exercises and spend more time playing sports. Nowadays, a great number of people regard playing sports as an essential activity in a day. This means people will get fit and have a better life. In conclusion, although some people support the view that sports is only for entertainment, I personally think that sports deserves to be appreciated.