‘A problem shared is a problem halved. ’ Write an essay in which you offer arguments for and against discussing your personal problems with a friend.

When people say that ‘a problem shared is a problem halved, ’ they mean that it is good to talk about your issues with someone else. While this may be true, there can also be disadvantages to looking for help in this way. The first advantage of talking to a friend about a personal problem is that you will gain sympathy and support from someone who cares about you. No one can deny that it is very helpful to have someone who listens to you and shows concern. Even if your friend can’t offer practical advice, it will still make you feel better. It is also true that talking through a problem can help you come to a solution yourself. So are there any disadvantages in confiding in friends in this way? Although it is true that it is helpful to share your problems with a friend, we should also remember that it is not a good idea to talk about your personal problems to everybody, or it can easily become gossip. It is important to pick one good friend that you can trust to keep your problem to themselves. Moreover, not everybody is kind, so you can end up feeling worse, unless you choose your friend wisely. To sum up, talking about your problems to a friend is a very beneficial thing to do, provided that you pick the right person. A good friend is one you can trust.