A popular theory among experts is that an increase in economic prosperity has diminishing marginal returns for citizens of a country that is already wealthy. While I agree with this statement, I also believe growing national wealth can bring benefits to the poorer populations of those countries.

A popular theory among experts is that an increase in economic prosperity has diminishing marginal returns for citizens of a country that is already wealthy. While I agree with this statement, I also believe growing national wealth can bring benefits to the poorer populations of those countries. On the one hand, the overall wealth of a country is not the only thing the majority of citizens care about. As the popular maxim goes, “money can’t buy happiness. ” Indeed, while a good social structure depends greatly on economic strength, there are other factors that contribute greatly to people’s happiness, in particular, mental health. Wealthy nations, such as the United States, typically report the highest prevalence of mental disorders, depression, and suicide rates, and the correlation between national prosperity and these issues is strong. Additional national wealth is unlikely to do much to allay these problems, so in this case, money is not a viable solution. On the other hand, there are no prosperous countries in the world devoid of citizens living below the poverty line. While there are a handful of countries that can be considered to be generally wealthy, such as Singapore and the Scandinavian states, the wealth is not evenly distributed among the population. Inevitably, some individuals find themselves living at subsistence level due to an array of factors. For this unfortunate segment of the population, an increase in national wealth could translate to increased social benefits, such as housing subsidies and free education and health care. This would undoubtedly enhance the quality of life for these citizens. Overall, while underprivileged members of a prosperous society would benefit from more generous social welfare systems brought about by extra wealth, economic expansion is not always accompanied by an increase in life satisfaction.