A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honor, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

It is undoubtedly true that an individual's repute is determined by his wealth and status within the society. The question is, why such behaviors and attitudes have developed among people and why we are losing our old values, such as character and humbleness. I strongly believe that people's perception has been changed in judging an individual’s worth. I will extend this argument by using suitable examples before drawing a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, media's coverage is a factor of utmost importance which has led to a surge in celebrities' respect within our society. This is to say that media industry has more focus on celebrities such as actors and singers, since they are famous and are wealthy, rather than on philosophers and scientists. That is the reason, they do bear more respect compared to other intellectuals within our society. In addition to this, we can also observe such attitudes within our families. To illustrate, it can be clearly seen that family members, who are rich and possess expensive materials such as luxury cars and villas are more likely to be invited in major decisions and family matters. It is due to the fact that they are being considered more respectable and reasonable, since every family member listens to them attentively and gives more importance to their decisions. To conclude, by analyzing the view, it can be shown clearly that given examples presents a solid evidence. It is a bitter reality that people are being judged by their financial status rather than their personality's features. However, if, in the future, people give respect to norms and values over social status and money, there is a good reason to believe that people’s behaviors will change and ultimately society will flourish.