A person's worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important.

It is often claimed that modern people are judged by their possessions and status whereas such values as honour, politeness, kindness are not taken into account anymore. From my point of view, this idea is quite relevant in today's world as people do value things and labels more than feelings and noble traits of character. To begin with, more and more often people are treated in accordance with their social position and belongings. The higher is a person's status the better he or she will be treated by society. Affluent people are always welcome no matter where they go. In contrast, underprivileged and deprived people are often maltreated. A homeless person even the honourest and kindest one, for instance, cannot enter a restaurant or other fancy places. Thus, it proves the fact that the modern world has become extremely materialistic. What is more, modern people are known to seek beneficial and profitable connections. It is common knowledge that wealthy people tend to have a lot more acquaintances than, for example, a low-paid worker. People want to be closer to those who are successful and privileged even if they are rude, mean and unpleasant. To sum up, it is my firm belief that in today's world such obsolete values as honour, kindness and trust do not determine a human being as much as material things and social status do. The latter things are more appreciated today due to people's desire to become rich and successful and have advantageous bonds that will help them achieve their opportunistic goals.