1. Some students who perform badly at school go on to have very successful lives as adults. What qualities are needed to do well at school? Are these the same qualities that help people succeed later in life?

Some adults live great and successful lives even though they struggled in their studies at school. Success in school mainly depends on the students’ abilities to be committed to their studies, while individuals can succeed in life if they chose the right career for them. On the one hand, students who excel in their studies must be committed and willing to sacrifice their free time for the sake of obtaining high grades. Succeeding in school requires the ability to comprehend and memorize a lot of subjects even if the student does not like the subject. Not everyone has this skill as students prefer entertaining themselves to studying and, therefore, few students can apply themselves to their studies. The families in which children grow often play a key role in determining their success at school. For instance, students in China are taught the importance of achieving high grades by their strict parents and, thus, they force themselves to study hard no matter how tired they are. On the other hand, achieving success in life require determination and choosing the correct career choice. Some students cannot do well at school because they do not like all the subjects they are taking and, consequently, cannot force themselves to study them. This does not mean that they will fail as adults since they might be talented in a specific field. This can be exemplified by people who become successful engineers and live great lives even though they did not do well at school. Furthermore, soft skills are also required to achieve success in life. In other words, people who have leadership qualities and teamwork skills have higher chances to succeed since they are valuable to any company. In conclusion, students who perform poorly at school can become successful adults by choosing the careers that they are passionate about and acquiring soft skills that make them invaluable employees in any organization.