A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

In this day and age, one is firstly determined by his social status and how many things he owns and his manner comes at the second. The reasons for this might be our modern society and our new way of thinking. In my opinion, indeed, old-fashioned values do not seem as important as it was. First of all, modern society has created more modern values, such as one's possessions and success. For instance, as the phone business continues to grow, people have been spending more and more money on buying phones. People now will treat you the same as the value of that phone. Another example is whether you are successful or not. The only thing that they care about is how much money you have made, how many houses you bought, etc. Nobody will take into consideration your kindness. Secondly, as time changes, our way of thinking does change, too. People nowadays mostly only know how to make profits and take advantage of other people. If they go on nicely doing their work, they soon will lose their money and then become poor. No one will ever respect them. Moreover, in this modern-day, you cannot trust anyone completely. You must always have doubts seeing that "trust" is no longer important. In conclusion, nowadays, social status and one's success are more essential than trust, honour and kindness. The modern society, as well as our new way of judging other people, maybe the reasons that lead to this opinion.