A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

We are living in the materialistic era these days. Nowadays, social status and wealth of the person plays a major role in determining his value in society. To a certain extent, I would agree with the statement that materialistic possessions are the driving factor while making a judgment about a person, However, I also believe that we cannot completely ignore the importance of moral values like as Honesty, Integrity and the positive attitude. This essay will discuss both aspects of above notion and will provide the final opinion. First of all, the current generation is more inclined towards materialistic world. Outer appearance, such as clothes, jewellery or costly possession like a luxury car or Gucci bag is valued more while making perception about any person. For example, many celebrities like Kim Kardasian are famous only due to their expensive outfits. They hardly display any world class acting skills in their TV shows. Secondly, some celebrities are sons and daughters of rich families. For instance Paris Hilton has inherited luxurious lifestyle from her family. Although she has a bad attitude, still she is very famous because she inherits the assets of her parents. However, we cannot completely ignore the relevance of traditional values. An employer will always look for those employees which have strong personality traits such as honest behaviour, integrity and dedication towards their work. Morover, a businessman will always prefer to do business with the partner who values, ethical practices more than any fake work commitments. In other words, a person's worth is judged according to the behaviour and circumstances. To conclude, the majority of judgements are still based upon the social status of the person. I opined that materialistic possessions play crucial role in determining individual's worth. However, we can significantly lessen this trend by teaching our young generation about their cultures.